>Home >About Us >The Canons of the EMC >TITLE I >Canon 04 Of Dioceses

Canon 04 Of Dioceses

Section 1.
The diocese shall be the primary unit of jurisdiction in this Church. Each diocese shall be governed by a Bishop whose authority shall be defined by the canons. The diocese shall have geographical boundaries which shall be established by the Council of Bishops and ratified by the General Synod.

Section 2.
The diocese shall be incorporated in one of the states within the diocesan boundaries.

Section 3.
Each diocese shall have its own canons, a Council of Advice, a Chancellor who shall be a practicing attorney licensed by the state in which he/she resides, a Treasurer, a Secretary, and a Diocesan Court. The duties of the aforementioned shall be defined in the canons of the diocese.

Section 4.
The diocesan canons shall be in accord with the canons of this Church and with civil law.

Section 5.
Whenever it is proposed to increase, diminish, or otherwise change the territory of a diocese, no action shall be taken by the General Synod until the proposal has been submitted to the Bishop and Convention of each diocese involved.

Section 6.
Any action taken by the Convention upon such proposal as described in the foregoing section shall be reported without delay to the Secretary of the General Synod, whereupon the General Synod may proceed to act.

Section 7.
Whenever any diocese ceases to be viable due to the lack of financial resources, diminished number of parishes and/or insufficient number of parishioners, the remaining parishes may request the dissolution of the diocese. They may request permission to join another jurisdiction or allow the Presiding Bishop, with the consent of the Council of Bishops, to assign its parishes and territory to the Bishop in closest proximity. This decision shall be ratified by the next General Synod.

Section 8.
The Bishop of the diocese which has been dissolved shall become Bishop Suffragan of the diocese which has received his territory.